5 Facts About Vegan Wine that Should Not Confuse People

Posted on 17 December, 2018 by Dimitri Safonov | 2 comments

5 facts that confuse people about vegan wine

In this short wine review we discuss 5 straightforward facts about vegan wine that always confuse people.

Find out why you do not to be vegan yourself to start enjoying vegan wines.

Wine can be not suitable for vegans or vegetarians

We’ve posted a rather comprehensive review on organic wines and other types that we launched our business with, back in June 2016, and that covered vegan wines too.

Since then, it is rather easy to promote our vegan wine range as products that are produced with no use of animal-derived materials. The latter could be utilized in filtration, clarification and fining of a wine and used to be a rather traditional technique going back to Medieval times.

Yet of course the evolution goes on and we are now looking at re-evaluating our human practices and lifestyle. So it is not strange that veganism is on the rise, people are looking for more humane treatment of animals and that goes into many aspects of our life. It is turn for every wine drinker to be conscious of how their wines are produced.

We appreciate that when you first stumble upon a concept of vegan wine, it could sound a bit of a weird concept. Wine is made of grapes, isn’t it? Read our co-founder Alex’s post on vegan wines and how he perceived them from the start.

To sum up, yes, many wines are made using different products made from animal produce and they are therefore not suitable for vegans.

1 Vegan wine does not contain anything animal-derived

True that, hence all the tireless work of Organic Wine Club to identify producers and showcase only the best natural wines that are produced without using anything that comes from an animal. We appreciate that not every producer will be able to spend additional money to certify their wine as vegan (as there is no legal requirement), so we go an extra mile and research technical specifications of every wine to get all the details, how it was produced and whether it is vegan or not. Have a look at our detailed wine descriptions and find out whether your selected wine is vegan or not. We provide similar identification for sulphites, sugars and of course alcohol.

Have a look at our collection of vegan wines and click on the wine to read its story and tasting notes.

2 Vegan wine is more of a philosophy of winemaking rather than a marketing ploy

We have recently written about our stance on vegan wines [see our blog post here]. It is about our rebellion against additives in wine, but also against using animals as a source of our wasteful food. Vegan wine therefore becomes something bigger than a diet requirement - it becomes a philosophy of not harming others. We do not look for a vegan logo simply because it might work as a marketing message, we promote such products because they are compassionate.

Vegan wine is fully in-line with our own business philosophy - a quiet rebellion against additives (sulphites) in wine. We promote real wines - made without animal derived materials and nothing added to adjust the flavours (no added sugars or preservatives).

3 Vegan wine is usually unfiltered

That’s great news for everyone who loves more flavor, depth and character in wine. Who would have thought that caring about animal lives bring some ‘side effects’ of better wine body, fulness of its flavour and uniqueness.

Many vegan wines that are produced in smaller quantities by passionate artisans (the types we are working with!) are to reflect traditions, its land and match to their local cuisine. That’s why we call them characterful, as these vegan wines are full of passion and you can simply taste it!

4 Vegan wine is good for the environment

Quite frankly, animal agriculture is one of the most wasteful and also one of the biggest polluters on the planet. If you combine it all together, the whole transport system produces less of damaging greenhouse gases than animal agriculture. So yes, vegan wine, being free of anything animal derived is also your statement that you care about the environment and future generations.

5 Vegan wine is good for your health

Sometimes people look for wines that do not contain traces of egg, gluten or other substances that, frankly speaking, simply shouldn’t be there. We cannot make any claims or even draw a logical conclusion as for diabetes or weight loss, however, if your vegan wine is unfiltered and also produced without preservatives, it means that it is alive. It means that it still contains a vast array of beneficial bacteria. Healthy gut means happier you, but it also contributes to a better weight management and metabolism. See our blog article on natural wine and gut health.

Get help with vegan wines from Organic Wine Club

We are passionate about what we do, so we want to help you enjoy our vegan wines. Have a look at our Wine Guide on matching vegan wines and food, it includes matching tips and some examples of vegan recipes. We also work with community and other passionate bloggers - see our friends from Uncorked Vegan discussing pairing vegan wine with vegetables on our lifestyle blog. 

Check out our discussion about such a concept as Vegan Paleo.

Many people also ask whether being vegan helps their budget. Yes, you definitely can spend less on a vegan diet - see our quick writeup about being vegan on a tight budget.

Finally, join in hundreds other Organic Wine Club members who are taking their vegan challenge for a week! Try it out and feel great - see our guidance here.

We hope you enjoy our down-to-Earth vegan guide on wines and lifestyle. Have a look at our current vegan wine list and thanks for your attention.

Posted in vegan wine


Previous

2 Responses

Organic Wine Club
Organic Wine Club

31 December, 2018

Dear John,
Thanks so much for your comment.
Traditional or conventional wines, non vegan kinds, are normally fined and/or filtered using cows’ intestines, or a very thin isinglass surface made of fish bladders – these are very typical examples. In these cases animals need to be killed in order for their ‘parts’ to be used.
Other uses for the same purposes include egg or dairy. If sourced from caged farm operations, these are a product of immense suffering too.
Hope it clears things up. Thank you for your interest.

John McQuistan
John McQuistan

31 December, 2018

Thank you for alerting me to the use of animal products in wine however before I decide to buy vegan wines I need to know more about what animal products are used and how they are used in the winemaking process. Also in what way are animals maltreated to obtain the products. Your article does not explain any of this.
Cheers
John

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.